Liquid Alternative Credit

An overview of the asset class and special features when selecting managers

In times of historically low interest rates, there has been an increasing trend among institutional investors towards alternative asset classes, both in the liquid and in the illiquid investment markets. These markets, however, have higher demands on the selection of the right investment strategies and managers. They are more complex, are divided into sometimes very different niches and require careful handling of illiquidity.
In this article we provide an overview of the Liquid Alternative Credit asset class and describe the particularities of manager due diligence in this asset class.

Liquid Alternative Credit

The asset class Liquid Alternative Credit comprises credit-based strategies with liquidity between traditional fixed income and private credit.

overview

Many of these strategies address specific niche areas that have developed on the open market since 2008 due to increasing regulatory constraints on banks. The strategies are usually investable through open-ended funds that offer quarterly liquidity and are often managed by former bank employees. In addition to the relatively short maturities of transactions, liquidity in some strategies is supported by a well-established secondary market.


Liquid Alternative Credit Features

Most strategies in this asset class are limited in capacity and managers often focus on a specific segment. By focussing on such niche strategies, earnings of between 7% and 12% p.a. are currently generated.
Liquid alternative credit strategies usually offer a high degree of security at several levels. The strategies have a low correlation to traditional fixed income and very low volatility. The individual managers have a high operational effort as they sometimes manage several hundred different positions in their portfolio. Identifying the investments is also very time-consuming, so that often only small amounts can be invested or lent.

Particularities of Manager Selection

As is usual in liquid investment strategies, we divide the manager selection into a qualitative and a quantitative part. We consider both parts to be equally important. The final evaluation and selection of the managers then is made in line with the “best-in-class” requirements of the strategy, but also on the basis of the specifications and restrictions of the target portfolio.

Trade finance in particular

In the Liquid Alternative Credit area, the individual strategies and the special features of manager selection are too different to describe them in general across the asset class. Therefore we will take a closer look at a trade financing example.

Qualitative manager selection

1. Investment Team

Managers should have a strong risk aversion or rather no-loss mentality, and similar to the back office in a bank, the risk manager should be directly involved in the structuring of transactions and have a clear veto right. Furthermore, the originators should not be primarily incentivised by the conclusion of individual transactions, but should participate in the long-term success of the company.

2. Strategy

For the success and performance of the fund it is crucial how restrictively the manager controls the capacity, i.e. that he adjusts the managed assets to the given investment opportunities and not the other way round. Capacity management not only has a significant impact on the level of return, but also on the risk profile of the strategy.

3. Risk Management & Operations

Risk management in trade financing is not limited to the selection of suitable counterparties and the consistent structuring of financing (underwriting), but also includes close monitoring of ongoing transactions (operations). The settlement area is particularly important for trade finaning, as this is where the greatest risks to the strategy exist.

4. Structure

It is also important to understand what types of trade finance the manager is entering into. Basically, there are two types of financing. The first type of financing requires the full repayment of the loan granted to the manager before he can lend the capital again. In the second case, the manager only provides credit facilities where the funds do not have to flow back after each transaction, but are immediately available to the trader. It is considerably more difficult to assess the overall risks here, as there is only limited transparency due to the lower account turnover.

Quantitative analysis

In trade financing, you should always look at the evolution of returns relative to assets under management and keep an eye on them over time to see when the manager is reaching or exceeding capacity. The number of individual positions and the size of the loans are also important indicators for the selection of managers. As the fund volume rises, both will typically rise parallel, but also here the figures have to be observed together with the performance, as conclusions can be drawn about the capacity or the achievement of the capacity limit. By looking at the inflows and outflows to and from the manager’s cash account, adjusted for investor inflows and outflows, and comparing them to the fund volume, one can draw conclusions about the average maturity of the underlying transactions.

Conclusion

Liquid Alternative Credit is a very interesting asset class with an attractive risk-return profile. A portfolio that is diversified across the various strategies is characterised by a high cash yield, low correlation to the credit markets, low volatility and very good risk hedging. Due to its low duration, the asset class is largely independent of interest rate risks, and it is possible to diversify investments globally in various market segments. Nevertheless, the asset class is often underrepresented in German portfolios. The reasons for this are usually the particular complexity and the relatively high effort involved in manager selection as well as the typically low investment capacities of only USD 50 million per manager. However, with appropriate resources, a well-diversified allocation to multiple managers can be created that also allows for larger investments and can be a valuable addition to most portfolios

 

Toni Quittschalle

Manager Selection
Prime Capital AG
Frankfurt am Main

Tilo Wendorff

Managing Director, Absolute Return
Prime Capital AG
Frankfurt am Main

Print

Liquid Alternative Credit

Ein Überblick der Anlageklasse und Besonderheiten bei der Managerauswahl

In Zeiten historisch niedriger Zinsen zieht es institutionelle Anleger in den letzten Jahren verstärkt in alternative Anlageklassen, sowohl in die liquiden als auch in die illiquiden Investmentmärkten. Diese Märkte stellen jedoch höhere Anforderungen an die Auswahl der richtigen Investmentstrategien und Manager. Sie sind komplexer, sind in teils sehr unterschiedliche Nischen unterteilt und erfordern einen umsichtigen Umgang mit Liquidität. In diesem Artikel geben wir einen Überblick über die Anlageklasse Liquid Alternative Credit und stellen die Besonderheiten der Manager Due Diligence in dieser Anlageklasse dar.

Liquid Alternative Credit

Die Anlageklasse Liquid Alternative Credit umfasst kreditbasierte Strategien, die in ihrer Liquidität zwischen traditionellem Fixed Income und Private Credit liegen.

overview

Viele dieser Strategien bearbeiten bestimmte Nischenbereiche, die auf dem freien Markt nach 2008 auf Grund zunehmender aufsichtsrechtlicher Einschränkungen von Banken entstanden sind. Die Strategien sind in der Regel über offene Fonds investierbar, die quartalsweise Liquidität anbieten und häufig von ehemaligen Bankmitarbeitern verwaltet werden. Zusätzlich zu den verhältnismäßig kurzen Laufzeiten der Transaktionen wird die Liquidität in manchen der Strategien durch einen gut etablierten Sekundärmarkt unterstützt


Liquid Alternative Credit Eigenschaften

Die meisten Strategien in dieser Anlageklasse sind kapazitätsbeschränkt und die Manager fokussieren sich häufig auf ein bestimmtes Segment innerhalb der Anlageklasse. Durch den Fokus auf solche Nischenstrategien werden aktuell Erträge zwischen 7% und 12% p.a. erwirtschaftet.
Liquid Alternative Credit Strategien bieten in der Regel ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit auf mehreren Ebenen. Die Strategien haben eine geringe Korrelation zu traditionellem Fixed Income und weisen eine sehr geringe Volatilität auf. Die einzelnen Manager haben einen hohen operationellen Aufwand, da sie teils mehrere hundert Einzelpositionen in ihrem Portfolio verwalten. Auch ist das Identifizieren der Manager sehr aufwendig, so dass man oft nur kleine Beträge investieren beziehungsweise verleihen kann.

Besonderheiten bei der Managerauswahl

Wie auch bei den liquiden Anlagestrategien üblich, unterteilen wir die Managerauswahl für Liquid Alternative Credit in einen qualitativen und einen quantitativen Teil. Wir erachten dabei beide Teile als gleich wichtig. Die finale Bewertung und Auswahl der Manager erfolgt dann im Abgleich mit den „best-in-class“ Anforderungen innerhalb der Strategie, aber auch anhand der Vorgaben und Restriktionen des Zielportfolios.

1. Handelsfinanzierungen im Speziellen

Die einzelnen Strategien und die Besonderheiten bei der Managerauswahl sind im Bereich des Liquid Alternative Credit zu unterschiedlich, um diese allgemein über die Anlageklasse hinweg zu beschreiben. Deshalb werden wir hier anhand des Beispiels Handelsfinanzierung etwas weiter in die Tiefe gehen.

2. Qualitative Analyse
a. Investment Team

Die Manager sollten eine starke Risikoaversion beziehungsweise no-loss Mentalität aufweisen, und analog zur Marktfolge in einer Bank sollte der Risikomanager in die Strukturierung von Transaktionen direkt eingebunden sein sowie ein klares Vetorecht haben. Auch sollten die Originators nicht in erster Linie durch den Abschluss einzelner Transaktionen incentiviert sein, sondern an einem langfristigen Unternehmenserfolg partizipieren.

b. Strategie

Für den Erfolg und die Wertentwicklung des Fonds ist es entscheidend, wie restriktiv der Manager die Kapazität steuert, also das er das verwaltete Vermögen an die gegebenen Investment-Opportunitäten anpasst und nicht andersherum. Das Kapazitätsmanagement hat nicht nur einen beträchtlichen Einfluss auf die Höhe der Rendite, sondern auch auf das Risikoprofil der Strategie.

c. Risiko Management & Operations

Das Risikomanagement bei Handelsfinanzierungen ist nicht auf die Auswahl geeigneter Gegenparteien und die lücklose Strukturierung der Finanzierung beschränkt (Underwriting), sondern umfasst auch die enge Überwachung der laufenden Transaktionen (Operations). Auch der Abwicklungsbereich ist bei Handelsfinanzierungen besonders wichtig, da hier die größten Risiken für die Strategie bestehen.

d. Struktur

Zudem ist es wichtig zu verstehen, welche Arten von Handelsfinanzierungen der Manager eingeht. Grundsätzlich kann man hier in zwei Typen von Finanzierungen unterteilen. Die erste Finanzierungsart erfordert die vollständige Rückzahlung des vergebenen Kredits an den Manager, bevor dieser das Kapital erneut verleihen kann. Bei der Zweiten vergibt der Manager lediglich Kreditfazilitäten, bei denen die Mittel nicht nach jeder Transaktion zurückfließen müssen, sondern dem Händler direkt wieder zur Verfügung stehen. Hierbei ist es bedeutend schwieriger die Gesamtrisiken einzuschätzen, da aufgrund der geringeren Kontoumsätze nur eingeschränkte Transparenz besteht.

3. Quantitative Analyse

Bei der Handelsfinanzierung sollte man die Entwicklung der Erträge relativ zum verwalteten Vermögen prüfen und über die gesamte Zeit im Auge behalten, um zu erkennen, wann der Manager seine Kapazitätsgrenze erreicht oder gar überschreitet. Auch die Anzahl der Einzelpositionen und die Größe der Kredite sind wichtige Indikatoren für die Auswahl der Manager. Mit steigendem Fondsvolumen werden typischerweise beide parallel steigen, aber auch hier muss man die Zahlen zusammen mit der Performance beobachten, da Rückschlüsse auf die Kapazität, beziehungsweise das Erreichen des Kapazitätslimits, gezogen werden können. Wenn man die Zu- und Abflüsse auf das Cash-Konto des Managers, um die Zu- und Abflüsse von Investoren bereinigt, betrachtet und diese ins Verhältnis zum Fondsvolumen setzt, kann man Rückschlüsse auf die durchschnittliche Laufzeit der zugrunde liegenden Transaktionen ziehen.

Fazit

Liquid Alternative Credit ist eine sehr interessante Anlageklasse mit einem attraktiven Risk-Return Profil. Ein über die verschiedenen Strategien diversifiziertes Portfolio zeichnet sich durch einen hohen Cash Yield, geringe Korrelation zu den Kreditmärkten, geringe Volatilität sowie eine sehr gute Risikoabsicherung aus. Die Anlageklasse weist aufgrund seiner geringen Duration weitestgehend unabhängig von Zinsänderungsrisiken, und es ist möglich die Investments global in verschiedensten Marktsegmenten zu streuen. Dennoch ist die Anlageklasse in deutschen Portfolien häufig unterrepräsentiert. Die Gründe dafür liegen meist in der besonderen Komplexität und dem damit verbundenen relativ hohen Aufwand bei der Manager Selektion sowie in typischerweise nur geringen Investitionskapazitäten. Mit entsprechenden Ressourcen kann jedoch eine gut diversifierte Allokation zu mehreren Managern geschaffen werden, die auch größere Investments ermöglicht und eine wertvolle Ergänzung in den meisten Portfolios sein kann.

 

Toni Quittschalle

Manager Selection
Prime Capital AG
Frankfurt am Main

Tilo Wendorff

Managing Director, Absolute Return
Prime Capital AG
Frankfurt am Main

Print