Renewable Energy in the Spanish Market – Revitalized Market coming back

Spain is the largest European producer of renewable energy, second to Germany. The Spanish market for Renewables had been stagnant since 2011 and with the strong economic recovery, Spain is now implementing it´s 2020 objectives, set by the EU.

To accelerate the pace of renewable project development, the Spanish State recently launched three rounds of auctions in January 2016, May 2017 and July 2017, attributing over 8 GW of solar PV and onshore wind projects. These projects, awarded through the auctions, benefit from a priority treatment by the administration for building and environmental permits and grid connection. The Spanish State also guarantees a minimum price of ca. EUR 37 per MWh produced. To achieve bankability, the projects require the signing of long term PPA (Purchase Power Agreement) that can be obtained from utilities and corporate off-takers.

Spain is well suited for both wind and solar resources. Due to sparsely inhabited countryside projects tend to be large and local population supportive. These projects benefit from very good wind and solar resources, some of the best locations are available for these projects.

Prime Capital is well positioned based on the experience in structuring large-scale projects and optimising complex multi-layer contracts. Prime has access to an attractive pipeline through various sources i.e. bilateral access to developers, banks and turbine manufacturers. Attractive financing terms are available to Prime through German and local banks and by the European Investment Bank.

Christian Topp
Managing Director, Infrastructure

Erneuerbare Energien im spanischen Markt – Ein „revitalisierter“ Markt kehrt zurück


Spanien ist nach Deutschland der größte europäische Produzent erneuerbarer Energien, allerdings stagnierte der Markt ab 2011. Durch die starke wirtschaftliche Erholung ist es Spanien nun aber wieder möglich, die von der EU festgelegten Ziele für 2020 umzusetzen.

Um eine Bankfinanzierung zu vereinfachen, hat der spanische Staat kürzlich drei Auktionsrunden (im Januar 2016, Mai 2017 und Juli 2017) gestartet, in denen über 8 GW an Photovoltaik- und Onshore-Windprojekten vergeben wurden. Projekte, die über Auktionen vergeben werden, genießen eine Vorzugsbehandlung durch die Verwaltung für Bau- und Umweltgenehmigungen sowie für den Netzanschluss. Der spanische Staat garantiert zudem einen Mindestpreis von ca. 37 Euro pro produzierter MWh. Um Bankfähigkeit zu erreichen, erfordern die Projekte die Unterzeichnung langfristiger Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs), die von Energieversorgern und Unternehmensverkäufern bezogen werden können.

Spanien verfügt sowohl über sehr gute Wind- wie auch Solarressourcen. Aufgrund der spärlich besiedelten Landschaft sind die Projekte in der Regel groß und unterstützen die lokale Bevölkerung. Einige der besten Standorte stehen für die Gewinnung erneuerbarer Energien zur Verfügung.

Prime Capital ist aufgrund seiner Erfahrung bei der Strukturierung von Großprojekten und der Optimierung komplexer Mehrschichtverträge gut positioniert. Prime Capital hat Zugang zu Projektentwicklungsgesellschaften über verschiedene Quellen, d.h. bilateralen Zugang zu Entwicklern, Banken und Turbinenherstellern. Zudem stehen über deutsche und lokale Banken sowie über die Europäische Investitionsbank (EIB) attraktive Finanzierungskonditionen zur Verfügung.

Author:
Christian Topp
Managing Director, Infrastructure
Print