Private Debt

Onerous capital requirements by various banking regulations continue to reduce banks’ lending capacity. This trend has been accelerating, at least in Europe, since the financial crisis in 2008. The resulting funding gap leads to an increasing demand for additional sources of capital – e.g., from institutional investors. From an investor perspective, this new investment opportunity – known as Private Debt – offers attractive yields and significant diversification benefits. While, historically, banks have been dominating private lending, we expect non-bank financing to grow significantly in Europe over the coming years, similar to the US. In addition, the US capital markets are already today significantly larger than the US banking market.

Classification

We define Private Debt as encompassing all debt claims that have not been issued publicly, irrespective of the type of borrower, legal format, rank, etc. Effectively, only large corporations use the public debt market due to the significant costs associated with public offerings, reporting, and compliance requirements. Thus, borrowers resorting to Private Debt are inherently different from issuers in the public market, suggesting there are diversification benefits. As opposed to publicly-issued debt, Private Debt claims are often collateralized or protected by strong covenant packages.

Risk and Return

Private Debt as an asset class offers significant yield pick-up vs. publicly-issued debt of comparable credit quality. The following graph shows a snap shot of various Private Debt segments against corporate bonds of the same Rating.

Risiko und Ertrag

Source: Prime Capital as of July 2017

Due to the private nature of Private Debt, obtaining data on returns is generally difficult. Therefore, recent joint research by the European Business School, Wiesbaden and Prime Capital[1] use the ECB’s Bank Interest Rate Statistics to construct time-series data on Private Debt performance.

The following graph shows the residual difference in large corporate loan interest rates after correcting for the risk-free interest rate and the credit risk component. This residual may be interpreted as a liquidity or complexity premium for Private Debt. The premium is currently around 100 bps and has been increasing in recent years in the wake of tightening bank Regulation.

Vergleich Private Debt Segmente mit Corporate Bonds

Source: Prime Capital

Diversification benefits through Private Debt

Using the time-series data above, correlations between Private Debt traditional asset classes such as Equity, Corporate and Sovereign Debt may be calculated. In general, correlations are significantly below one, in most cases even below 0.5, confirming that Private Debt offers appealing diversification benefits to typical investor portfolios. Diversification benefits may also be estimated by analysing the effect of adding Private Debt to a typical investor portfolio. As a result, the efficient frontier of a traditional portfolio could be significantly improved with Private Debt.

Private Debt and Risk Management

Due to collateral and covenants, Private Debt generally provides significantly better protection against credit risk than comparable publicly-issued debt. The following graph shows the recoveries of various debt Segments.

Recovery Rates einzelner Private Debt Segmente

Source: Moody’s, “Annual Default Study: Corporate Default and Recovery Rates, 1920-2015”, “Infrastructure Default and Recovery Rates, 1983-2015”, „Default and Recovery Rates for Project Finance Bank Loans, 1983-2014”

Private Debt in the near future – a forecast

It is expected that the share of Private Debt financings will increase steadily. Institutional investors develop a deeper understanding of the asset class and will continue to investigate the various sub-asset classes in much more detail. The capital supply of these investors will intensify the shift of the market share from traditional credit (bank) markets to Private Debt (investor) markets.

Prime Capital has been a pioneer in making aviation debt accessible to institutional investors and has since been expanding its Private Debt capabilities into Corporate Lending, Infrastructure and Real Estate financing and expects significant further asset growth in these areas.

Autor:
Dr. Andreas Gintschel
Client Solutions
[1] See Guizo, Gintschel, and Paterlini: The Components of Private Debt Performance; EBS Working Paper, June 2017.
Print

Private Debt

Erhöhte regulatorischen Anforderungen an die Eigenkapitalausstattung von Banken führen zu einem Rückgang der Kreditvergabe durch Banken. Dieser Trend entwickelte sich, insbesondere in Europa, seit Ende der Finanzkrise 2008. Die daraus resultierende Finanzierungslücke führt zu einem Anstieg des Bedarfs an zusätzlichen Kapitalquellen – beispielswiese durch Institutionelle Investoren. Aus Investorenperspektive bietet diese neue Investitionsmöglichkeit, in der Regel Private Debt genannt, attraktive Ertrags- und Diversifikationsvorteile. Während historisch betrachtet das Private Lending zu weiten Teilen von Banken dominiert wurde, wird ein signifikantes Wachstum von Finanzierungen außerhalb des Bankensektors in den kommenden Jahren erwartet, wie es bereits in den USA zu beobachten war. Zusätzlich sind dort die Kapitalmärkte bedeutend größer als der klassische amerikanische Bankenmarkt.

Begriffsdefinition

Wir definieren Private Debt als sämtliche Fremdkapitalforderungen, die nicht öffentlich ausgegeben werden, unabhängig ihres Schuldners, des juristischen Formats oder der Seniorität. De facto ist der öffentliche Kapitalmarkt nur Großunternehmen zugänglich. Dies ist auf die erheblichen zusätzlichen Kosten verbunden mit öffentlichen Angeboten, Reporting- und Complianceanforderungen zurückzuführen. Folglich unterscheiden sich Kreditnehmer, die im Private Debt-Markt aktiv sind, grundsätzlich von denen am öffentlichen Markt, was entsprechende Diversifikationsmöglichkeiten ergibt. Im Gegensatz zu öffentlich ausgegebenen Anleihen sind Private Debt Forderungen in der Regel besichert und durch starke Zusatzverpflichtungen (Covenants) abgesichert.

Risiko und Ertrag

Als Assetklasse bietet Private Debt signifikante Renditeaufschläge im Vergleich zu öffentlich ausgegebenen Anleihen mit vergleichbarer Kreditqualität. Der folgende Graph zeigt einen Ausschnitt verschiedener Private Debt Segmente verglichen mit Corporate Bonds des selben Ratings.

Risiko und Ertrag

Quelle: Prime Capital Stand July 2017

Aufgrund der „privaten Natur“ von Private Debt ist die Beschaffung von Performancedaten grundsätzlich schwierig. Aus diesem Grund haben sich die European Business School, Wiesbaden und Prime Capital[1] im Rahmen aktueller gemeinsamer Forschungstätigkeiten auf die Zinsstatistiken der Europäischen Zentralbank konzentriert, um entsprechende Zeitreihen für die Private Debt Performance zu konstruieren.

Der folgende Graph zeigt die Differenz von Corporate Loan-Zinssätzen nach Abzug des risikofreien Zinssatzes und Kreditrisiko-Komponente. Diese Differenz kann als Liquiditäts- oder Komplexitätspremium interpretiert werden, welche zurzeit bei ca. 100 bps liegt und in den letzten Jahren im Rahmen strengerer Bankregulierungen gestiegen ist.

Vergleich Private Debt Segmente mit Corporate Bonds

Quelle: Prime Capital

Diversifikationseffekte durch Private Debt

Basierend auf den oben aufgeführten Zeitreihen können Korrelationen zwischen traditionellen Assetklassen wie Aktien, Unternehmens- und Staatsanleihen und Private Debt berechnet werden. Grundsätzlich bewegen sich die Korrelationen weit unterhalb von 1, in den meisten Fällen sogar unter 0,5. Diese Beobachtung bestätigt die Annahme, dass Private Debt attraktive Diversifikationsvorteile für ein typisches Investorenportfolio bietet. Diversifikationseffekte können zusätzlich durch das Hinzufügen von Private Debt zu einem typischen Investorenportfolio geschätzt werden. Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass die Efficient Frontier eines traditionellen Portfolios mit Private Debt deutlich verbessert werden konnte.

Private Debt und Risiko Management

Aufgrund der Besicherung und der vertraglichen Covenants bietet Private Debt eine signifikant höhere Absicherung gegen Kreditrisiken versus vergleichbare öffentlich ausgegebene Anleihen. Der folgende Graph zeigt die Recovery Rates einzelner Debt-Segmente.

Recovery Rates einzelner Private Debt Segmente

Quelle: Moody’s, “Annual Default Study: Corporate Default and Recovery Rates, 1920-2015”, “Infrastructure Default and Recovery Rates, 1983-2015”, „Default and Recovery Rates for Project Finance Bank Loans, 1983-2014”

Private Debt in der nahen Zukunft – ein Ausblick

Es wird erwartet, dass der Anteil von Private Debt Finanzierungen konstant steigen wird. Institutionelle Investoren entwickeln ein tiefergehendes Verständnis für die Assetklasse und werden die zahlreichen Sub-Assetklassen im Detail analysieren. Das verfügbare Kapital dieser Investoren wird die Verlagerung der Marktanteile von den traditionellen Kredit (Banken)-Märkten zu Private Debt (Investor) Märkten weiterhin begünstigen.

Prime Capital als einer der Vorreiter im Bereich Aviation Debt hat seit dem seine Aktivität im Private Debt Markt in Richtung Corporates, Infrastructure und Real Estate Financing verstärkt und wird dies auch in naher Zukunft weiterhin tun.

Autor:
Dr. Andreas Gintschel
Client Solutions
[1] Guizo, Gintschel, and Paterlini: The Components of Private Debt Performance; EBS Working Paper, June 2017.
Print